Notice: Undefined index: slug in /var/www/html/wp-includes/class-wp-theme-json.php on line 2069

Notice: Undefined index: slug in /var/www/html/wp-includes/class-wp-theme-json.php on line 2069

Notice: Undefined index: slug in /var/www/html/wp-includes/class-wp-theme-json.php on line 2069
Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, and 3-time ISA World Surfing Games Champion Sally Fitzgibbons Appointed to Key Olympic Commissions

Press Release from the International Surfing Association:

International Surfing Association President, Fernando Aguerre, and former world number one surfer, Sally Fitzgibbons, have been appointed to International Olympic Committee Commissions for 2022.

The inclusion of two leading surfing figures in the latest IOC Commissions highlights the positive and growing role of surfing in the Olympic Movement. Within the IOC Commissions framework, Fernando Aguerre and Sally Fitzgibbons, alongside the other Commission members, will help steer the direction of the IOC by applying their individual sports expertise to make recommendations to the IOC President, the Executive Board and the IOC Session.

Sally Fitzgibbons and Fernando Aguerre at WSG Press Conference –  Photo: ISA / Pablo Franco

Aguerre joins the Olympism 365 Commission, whose mission is to maximise the positive impact of sport and Olympism in society, aligned to the UN Sustainable Development Goals. Aguerre had previously served on the IOC’s Sport and Active Society Commission for the past four years.

Australian Sally Fitzgibbons, who became an Olympian at Tokyo 2020 last year, has been appointed to the Olympic Programme Commission – and its membership has the responsibility of reviewing the programme of sports for both the summer and winter editions of the Olympic Games. The Commission is currently analysing the sports and disciplines for Milano-Cortina 2026 Olympic Winter Games and Los Angeles 2028 Olympic Games.

ISA President, Fernando Aguerre, said: 

“I am very happy to continue to support the Olympic Movement through my service to the IOC’s Olympism 365 Commission.  It is an honour to represent the ISA and the whole surf community at the highest levels of the Olympic world.

“And the appointment of a world-class athlete like Sally is not only a recognition of her amazing personal qualities as an ambassador for our sport, but also the continued value that surfing provides to the Olympics.

“For me, I love being involved and contributing to an area that is especially dear to my heart – maximising the power of sport, and surfing, to create a positive impact on the world we all live on.

“I am very passionate about the principle of ensuring everyone – no matter where they live, or what background they are from – can enjoy sport and use sport to help humanity. And channelling sport to achieve social purpose in our communities – the essence of Olympism – is a mission also shared by surfers all over the world.”

Sally Fitzgibbons, said:

“I’m stoked by the appointment to the Olympic Programme Commission. I’m looking forward to collaborating with all the amazing people on the Commission to work on a brighter sporting future through the Games. This is a huge thrill for me as I’ve grown up in a life of sport and working towards the Olympic dream. To now have a hand in shaping that dream for the next generation has me riding a new wave of inspiration.”

About the International Surfing Association:

The International Surfing Association (ISA), founded in 1964, is recognized by the International Olympic Committee as the World Governing Authority for Surfing. The ISA governs and defines Surfing as Shortboard, Longboard & Bodyboarding, StandUp Paddle (SUP) Racing and Surfing, Para Surfing, Bodysurfing, Wakesurfing, and all other wave riding activities on any type of waves, and on flat water using wave riding equipment. The ISA crowned its first Men’s and Women’s World Champions in 1964. It crowned the first Big Wave World Champion in 1965; World Junior Champion in 1980; World Kneeboard Champions in 1982; World Longboard Surfing and World Bodyboard Champions in 1988; World Tandem Surfing Champions in 2006; World Masters Champions in 2007; World StandUp Paddle (SUP, both surfing and racing) and Paddleboard Champions in 2012, and World Para Surfing Champions in 2015.

ISA membership includes the surfing National Federations of 109 countries on five continents. The ISA is presided over by Fernando Aguerre (ARG). The Executive Committee includes four Vice-Presidents Karín Sierralta (PER), Kirsty Coventry (ZIM), Casper Steinfath (DEN) and Barbara Kendall (NZL), Athletes’ Commission Chair Justine Dupont (FRA), Regular Members Atsushi Sakai (JPN) and Jean Luc Arassus (FRA) and ISA Executive Director Robert Fasulo as Ex-officio Member. 

Click to comment

Notice: Undefined variable: user_ID in /var/www/html/wp-content/themes/zoxpress/comments.php on line 51

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply


For more news & updates,

visit us on social at:




Pre-Register for Surf Park Summit 2024!


We’re excited to unveil the agenda for the highly anticipated 2024 Surf Park Summit!
 Discover a...

You May Also Like

Sticky Post

Citywave, the maker of surf wave machines, has partnered with UEC and Goodsurf to expand its surf experience across North America. The company intends...

Sticky Post

From pint-sized surfers to significant steps in sustainability, here’s a list of what’s making headlines in April: Surf Park Prices WavePoolMag has released an...

Sticky Post

Surf Park Summit’s new Developers Track is getting media attention from the San Diego Business Journal. The unique special sessions during this year’s Summit...

Sticky Post

PerfectSwell is showcasing its wave technology in a video posted to Instagram. The video highlights big air maneuvers with 15-year-old surfer Erin Brooks. According...